What's new
What's new

Is a QT8/QT10 type machine too much for a home guy?

hackish

Plastic
I have been looking to upgrade my Southbend 9L since I now have a workshop. I have a small compressor, 220v RPC power and a big roll type door.

I do a fair bit of aluminum and a little steel. A few pulleys, shafts, housings, threaded parts and such, and because of diameter, sometimes the tailstock is a requirement. Mostly this is prototype work with 1-10 parts being made. My background is in industrial control, embedded systems and programming. I would like a CnC lathe for some shapes and the imperial/metric threading challenges. This is just a side hobby for occasional use.

Would a full-on QT8/QT10 type machine be too much for someone in my position? While I may be willing to spend up to 20k, I worry that serious machines would not be appropriate for occasional weekend use, ie coolant storage, memory / batteries going flat, maintaining proper lubrication etc?

Another option being considered is the Harrison Alpha 400.

Any thoughts?

I and a few others have the QT10n in our home shop. Mine is the ATC version with the T-3 controller, and has live tooling. A very versatile and accurate machine. Though by todays standards a little slow for large production job. It's perfect for small runs and prototype work. The foot print is a little large for the machine capacity in comparison to a manual machine, but worth it in capability.
A working QT10N with T-2 2-axix controller should cost about $6-10K. One sitting and unsure, considerably less. The T-3 with ATC Live Tooling can go to $18k in working condition.

Regards,
Heli

mazaks are kick ass machines
that being said
a 10 to 20k machine is going to be a couple decades old. a machine of this age is subject to a 5k repair bill at most any moment
if you aint making money with something of this class i would be carefull buying something like an old mazak for hobby.