What's new
What's new

Turning 1018 Steel

Circuit 1

Aluminum
First off I'm still really new to the lathe. I have a SQT-10M lathe with T-Plus control and all I've turned is Aluminum and Plastics. I have a small job I need to do with 1018 steel. I've read little about feeds and speeds but my main question is about DOC. Everyone says not to baby the cut but what about when boring and you're trying to hit a few tenths. Do you just scrap parts until you get to the number or can you take a few tenths off like with aluminum to get the number you need? And is it better to use coolant or not? Also a little input on some conservative feeds and speeds would be appreciated. I only have a few of these to do.
Thanks!

I'm a hobby guy and as such many times deal with less than desirable steels like 1018 and can't really crank DOC, feeds, and speeds on my machine to get good results with a typical carbide setup. But just recently I tried a common hobby trick which was to use sharp aluminum inserts for finishing some mild steel, and it worked wonders and was able to take tiny DOC while leaving a great finish compared to the regular insert I was roughing with. Definitely worth a try compared to scrapping parts.

It really depends on the depth of the bore, a rigid stub boring bar compared to a 6+ x D stickout bar will have different processes.

You maybe be better off running it like a manual lathe. Rough it to .03 per side out and take 3 .01" cuts checking in between. If you miss the mark that's on you at that point.

A sharp aluminum insert as mentioned above is another good option for finishing like a CCGT or DCGT.

It will take some serious SFM to get a nice finish out of 1018, I would probably start at 500 SFM and expect to go up. Your roughing will probably look great due to the high DoC.

Roughing 500 sfm, .015 fpr .1 DoC
Finishing 650 sfm, .005-8 fpr .01 DoC should be a decent starting point if your bore is at least Ø3/4"

Use coolant.