What's new
What's new

New Shop Build - Houston, TX

TravisR100

Cast Iron
I’ve been a long time member here but haven’t posted much in quite some time. After I moved many years ago I was without a shop space until now. About a year ago we moved again and I finally had some room to build a dedicated shop.

I’m not a professional machinist. It’s simply something I enjoy doing in my spare time. I like to tinker with metal, woodworking, and electronics. Up to now I’ve always been relegated to making due with whatever spare space I could carve out of a garage. When we moved I looked for a house that already had a dedicated shop space but of course we couldn’t find a house that my wife liked that also had a shop. I figured no problem, I’ll just build one later. I had no idea what the costs involved were. It was definitely more expensive than I had assumed.

I was going to wait until everything was completed and I got moved into the shop before making this post but I figure it’s far enough along that I’ll go ahead and share my experience.

My dream was to build something around 40x100. Once I started looking at the costs involved that quickly went out the window. I started looking at budget minded options. My plan was to go with a Carolina Carports building. I really wanted something that could be climate controlled. I figured I could still insulate it and have a useable shop. The HOA here wouldn’t approve it. The Carolina Carports building can’t really be customized much beyond the size of the building. My HOA required a 2’ overhang on the sides and 1’ at the front and back as well as a 4:12 slope for the roof. Carolina Carports simply couldn’t do this.

I ultimately ended up going with a Mueller Building. It was definitely more expensive but now that it’s up I’m happy I made that decision. With the expense of the slab, it made more sense to put a substantial building on it.