What's new
What's new

A very small Shop for very small machines.

Adam_Demuth

Aluminum
I'm a big fan of the entrepreneurial spirit that's on Practical Machinist. For years I studied the threads of members shops planning to have my own one day. About two years ago that journey started, since this forum and the members where defiantly part of my inspiration I wanted to share where I'm at.

The primary focus for my business was tooling for carbide stamping dies and high speed automation. As a tooling designer I new could leverage my contacts in that field for work. I also do regular machine shop work but that's only 20 percent of my business.

- Haas mini mill for the pre heat treat work. it also handles the occasional non tooling related job.
-Parker majestic #2 for surface grinding, I need to build or buy a lot of work holding for this. right now it's limited to flat square and parallel blocks.
-Mori Seiki NVD 1500 DCG- I wanted to start machining carbide form punches and dies and regular steel hard cutting. This machine was purpose built for that work. The 40K spindle allows me to be competitive with the small tooling i need to use. I'm cutting carbide with tools as small as .008 and steel down to .004". The travels are x5.9" by y5.9" , most of my work is under 2" so that's fine.

View attachment 264325
IMG_1933.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_1936.jpg
    IMG_1936.jpg
    82.3 KB · Views: 887
  • IMG_1937.jpg
    IMG_1937.jpg
    87.4 KB · Views: 1,003
  • IMG_1395.jpg
    IMG_1395.jpg
    88.9 KB · Views: 1,411
Good to see you here Adam, been following you on IG for awhile always some neat stuff.

What kind of tooling do you use to mill carbide? Or I guess another question is what grade carbide are you milling?

Ahh, after JP's comment, I just made the connection between you and the SMW shop tour!
Cool to see you ventured off on your own path. The stuff you do looks very cool. And, that little Mori is quite interesting.
Thanks for sharing.