What's new
What's new

xZakt Engineering - the 22 year old shop owner. what!!???

Themanualguy

Aluminum
Yep you read correctly haha. 22 years old
Hey everyone, my name is Zak Anderson and Im a machinist from Kiama, all the way down here in Australia. Beautiful place here, 16 acres of farmland and 10 minutes from town and beach - perfect!
I've been lurking here since I was 16/17 and it feels weird that I feel like I already know some of you guys ( Abom, Ox, John Welden, SND, alloutmx, wheelieking, Don Bailey etc) and here I am introducing myself. But anyways, here's a bit of a background story and how I got to be where I am now ( Ill try not to make you all wait in suspense like wrustle did!:willy_nilly:
Did the usual things that kids with "the knack" do. Steal dad's tools, pull bikes parts, loose parts, put them back together with even more parts left over. You all know the deal...
When it came to choosing a career path when I was 15, I veered toward engineering at Uni and was headed that way until this damn metalworking trade came along. Freakin loved it! Last 2 years of school I excelled and topped the class in Metalwork - so there was something there I guess haha
Started my apprenticeship at a machine shop in my area. Place did CNC as well as fitting, welding and fab and my personal fav ----- MANUALS!!!!!
Got the hang of the manual lathe pretty freakin quickly and was making parts like this by the 6 month mark.
259fne9.jpg