What's new
What's new

.010 off

CALNNC

Plastic
I'm a newbie to this site, posting here to find some expertise. I picked up a mechanically and physically very nice Mitoyo 6 inch dial micrometer. Smooth operation, but when I checked it against my Starrett standards, it was .010 off at 1 inch, the same at 2 inches. Tried a set of feeler gauges from .025 down to .0015 which the Starrett read accurately, and the Mitoyo was .002 at feeler .0015, .008 at feeler .010, .022 at feeler .025. What in the world can go wrong with a micrometer like this? No missing teeth, no grit, no sticky spots, the blades sharp, flat and parallel.

Charlie in NC

I'm a newbie to this site, posting here to find some expertise. I picked up a mechanically and physically very nice Mitoyo 6 inch dial micrometer. Smooth operation, but when I checked it against my Starrett standards, it was .010 off at 1 inch, the same at 2 inches. Tried a set of feeler gauges from .025 down to .0015 which the Starrett read accurately, and the Mitoyo was .002 at feeler .0015, .008 at feeler .010, .022 at feeler .025. What in the world can go wrong with a micrometer like this? No missing teeth, no grit, no sticky spots, the blades sharp, flat and parallel.

Charlie in NC

dial caliper has a gear and a gear rack and when chips get between it jumps a tooth. dial lock is loosened and turned to line up zero when caliper closed and locked again, takes maybe 2 seconds. some use a very thin brass shim and put between gear and rack to jump tooth back if the zero not pointing up bothers them. it can take time and many tries to jump teeth back to align the needle and zero to top again.
professionals do this many times in the life of the caliper but usually keep the chips off it better so it does not jump a tooth again cause it is annoying to have to reset it.

#2 to what Tom says.