What's new
What's new

Big Mic's

Ox

Diamond
I am new to this design.
Has anyone used them?

TESA 36"- 40' OUTSIDE MICROMETER IN WOODEN CASE WITH STANDARDS | eBay

Are they more thermally stable from hand/heat transfer?
I'd guess no as the less material there is - the quicker it would be to warm up?

Maybe they are s'posed to be more rigid/pound to aid in handling/accuracies?

I see that SPI (MSC) has copied that basic design on their new ones.

SPI Electronic Interchangeable Anvil Micrometer 36”-40”/1000mm Range 13-498-1 | eBay

--------------------

Then there is this:

Scherr Tumico Micrometer 36"-42" inches | eBay

This has an interesting head unit on it.
That could be a good plan on these big (heavy) units, allowing two hands (with gloves) to handle the weight and manipulate the unit to get a consistant apex reading.

Has anyone used this design, and what is your experience?

I am quoting a 38" part and I only have mic's to 36", but I doo have a vern calipers that could possibly work.

--------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

we had starett mics up to 40" if I recall where I used to work long ago. but we got better and more accurate readings with out muller bar set-ups. getting a mic that big ,anything over 30" to seat right was always a pain in the ass.

our shop was climate controled and we alwasy layed the mics and muller bars on the surface plate to keep it same temp.
when we had to check parts in machine, we usually ran a Test part checked it on machine then took it out layer it in inspection on the plate for a while and checked it.
a few times mainly on titanium we had to make the cut run the run the spindle at a few rpms with coolant on to make sure the part wasnt to hot to check.

...Then there is this:

That could be a good plan on these big (heavy) units, allowing two hands (with gloves) to handle the weight and manipulate the unit to get a consistant apex reading.