What's new
What's new

Current state of the art reference planes

rhb

Aluminum
Who makes arbitrarily large reference planes?

What level of accuracy can they achieve?

By what methods do they test the accuracy of such surfaces?

How is loading and temperature addressed?

I am looking for very specialized information. The sort of thing google can't find. I did every type of search I could think of today and got nowhere.

I'm a retired research scientist. I just obtained a personal copy of "Foundations of Mechanical Accuracy" by Wayne Moore. Reading that spawned my questions.

I read it years ago via an interlibrary loan, but could not find a copy at a reasonable price. I recently discovered that Moore Tool Co. keeps this masterpiece in print. For $150 I received a sewn binding, sixth printing done in 2017 on fine glossy paper. A refreshing change from glued binding, print on demand books for as much or more.

At the time I ordered it from Moore Tool, a pair of Amazon sellers were asking $4000 for a used copy!

I am interested in the technology of doing something very difficult.

I am, naturally, aware of L.S. Starrett and Doall. Does anyone go beyond them?

Reg

Last edited:
A surface plate is a small reference plane. By arbitrarily large I mean just that. If someone had an application that required a 10' x 12' surface which was extremely flat, how would such a thing be made? And what flatness is achievable?

"Foundations of Mechanical Accuracy" was written 50 years ago. I'm curious how much technology has changed since then. Moore describes a process which was developed by Joseph Whitworth in the 19th century involving the creation of 3 plates.

For an arbitrarily large flat plane making 3 is not practical. So how would it be done? What are the limits of modern technology?

Amateur astronomy has been transformed by the development of CNC grinding and polishing machines. Is there a similar development in the making of surface plates?