What's new
What's new

Help figure out this dial test indicator

gene-pavlovsky

Plastic
Hello everyone!
It's my first post, I'm a software developer and a beginning hobby metalworker.

I've got a dial test indicator stand on eBay, and was wondering if someone could tell me about this style of stand. I haven't seen similar stands so far. Bundled together was an accessory, looks like some kind of holder, but I can't really figure out it's usefulness (it's the metal two-part piece on the right from the indicator stand).

The stand came with a 0.01 mm Compact dial test indicator, which seems to be working fine, however at rest the revolution counter is pointing closer to 1 than 0. I can work with that by remembering this, but I wonder if that is normal, or if not, is there any way to adjust the rev counter's position?

Thanks in advance for all the tips, and please excuse my non-native English (I'm a Russian living in Luxembourg).

Best regards
--Gene

IMG_20190418_203139884_HDR.jpgIMG_20190418_203212253.jpgIMG_20190418_203204947.jpgIMG_20190418_203159366.jpg

As for the dial reading at rest, that really doesn't matter. This type of indicator is TYPICALLY used to measure variations in a surface, rather than a linear dimension. The indicator is typically brought close to the workpiece, then the indicator is adjusted so that the tip is touching the workpiece. You can tell this when the dial reading deflects slightly. You can then rotate the dial until it reads "0", then either rotate the workpiece (as in a lathe) to read the variations in the surface, or if the indicator is mounted on a stand, move the indicator over the surface to read the differences. I realize my descriptions are very broad, but I'm trying to minimize any confusion due to the language differences. :)

Looks like it's attached to some sort of magnetic base, although I don't see a lever to turn the magnet off/on. Usually used to indicate part runout on the lathe.