What's new
What's new

Help me remember dial bore gauge basics

GregSY

Diamond
30 years ago, I worked in a shop and used these gauges all the time...but I've forgotten some details.

As I recall, you would used a setting gage of a given diameter to first establish the baseline of the dial gauge. Then, you'd use the gauge to measure the bore, etc.

Is that right? In other words, without the setting gage, the dial bore gauge is not that useful?

What range is considered acceptable when selecting a setting gage? In other words, if I want to measure a 2.100" bore, is there any issue with using a 2.090" gage as the starting point?

I'm looking at buying this gauge but also want to know if I need to buy setting gages etc.

https://www.amazon.com/Mitutoyo-511...ds=511-753&qid=1595971320&s=industrial&sr=1-2511-753.jpg

Using a standard ring type of gage is the quickest and easiest way to set them, but they can be set with a micrometer or gage blocks also. It's just a lot more fiddly and more of a pain in the butt - you have to spend some time making sure you have found the low point repeatably.

Sunnen I think made a setting fixture with a mic head on board for quickly setting different sizes. I have bore gages from 1/16" or so up to 12"+ and I usually use a micrometer for setting unless I have something that is super tight on tolerance. Then gage blocks or add the cost of a ring gage to the job.

As far as size range goes, my Starretts are settable in a sort of infinite range by sliding the housing containing the dial indicator up and down the extension shaft then clamping it, so I just set the gage at the desired size in the center of the indicator travel where it's at zero right in the middle. Not sure if the Mitutoyo is the same.