What's new
What's new

How to use a CMM

gerry1

Plastic
Hi all,

This year I transferred from Electrical Engineering to a course in Engineering Systems Maintenance - this is more suited to my work. This is a big change as I am an Electrician and I don't have much Metrology experience. We have been asked to write a report on a CMM - it's structure, probe, etc. I am picking bits and pieces from the net but I'm confused over a few points:
1. What are the steps involved in measuring a part, is the first thing to calibrated the probe?
2. How and why do we align the axes - and what is the importance of this?
3. When our lecturer gave us a demonstration, he aligned the z axis. Then the machine was able to automatically probe the piece (gearbox) and give the results on the PC. How does this work?
4. What is the importance of the air bearings and do all 3 axes work on air bearings?

I know these are basic questions to you guys but it's nice to get the opinion of pro's. I would be grateful for any help with.

Cheers

3D Measuring with CMM

Hi Gerry,

Welcome to the forum! There are many ways how you can use the CMM. I can tell you how I usually work in the below (simplified) description.

Question 1: which steps
Basically the steps are:
A) Evaluate which sizes from the drawing you want to measure (measuring plan) to know which probes you need AND who are the reference elements for your alignment(s)
B) Calibrate the desired probe(s)
C) Measure at least the reference elements for the main alignment
D) Align the part ("designate the Z-axis"; the secondary axis and a part origin).
E) Measure everything you need, as your measuring plan says.
F) Build a measuring report (enter nominals and tolerances)

Question 2: how and why aligning?