What's new
What's new

Least squared vs max inscribed/min circumscribed

seth

Aluminum
Hoping you metrology gurus can shed some light on this. I am a machinist and understand the methodology of min/max but wondering how most inspectors decide when to use this. I’ve done “some” research and honestly it’s all over the board when to use least squared and min/max. Knowing that when you have a tighter tolerance, say +/.0005, the OE is wanting a precision fit whether it be an o ring shaft etc. Functionally I understand on a bore, that a shaft or o ring seal must fit in a bore within the low of the tolerance of that bore roundness taking into account. That being said, when making a part, we do not have a cmm to verify on the floor as we make the parts and use bore gages to monitor through the run. Where the problem rises is we check at the machine in basically a restrained condition(on lathe in chuck) and get the bore to be on size. When it is released we get an out of round condition of roughly .0005. Now when inspection gets it, it will be rejected with max inscribed method and pass with least squared (average) if made to nominal. Is there a general rule when you make components where you don’t know the application and choose between these two methods. We are trying to get a standard on this as we all need to be on the same page. It really doesn’t matter to me or the other machinists which way we choose, but am hoping you guys can help with this. Side note, we don’t always know how the customer will check.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Since you say least squared I'd guess to CMM point fits vs functional gauges.
First thing to remember on a CMM is that no point taken is "right" or correct. Hence fits and lots of points to toss or average out the bad data.
Max inscribed has the same problem of questionable numbers since who knows which are fliers.
Knowing the R&R of the CMM is the base staring point. How many points taken can also move things around.