What's new
What's new

Measuring Internal Angles

J Skeleman

Plastic
Hello Everyone,

I'm looking for a new method of measuring internal angles like the one in this picture. (The 12° ±3)

Deep Hole Inside Angle.jpg

Right now we're using a molding putty to take an impression and make this inside feature into an outside feature. Then we toss that on a comparator and take our measurements. While this works, it's a lot of time wasted waiting for the putty to set, and it really doesn't seem like it produces the most accurate results. This is a deep hole measurement, not a through hole.

Is there some type of gauge that might make our putty process obsolete?

btw
I'm fairly new to QA, and entirely hopelessly lost when it comes to machining and manufacturing, so please keep the engineer jargon to an understandable level. Lol.

Thanks in advance.

what do you have to work with? CMM?

You can check the angle with a sine plate. The diameter you could check by calculating a gage point and use a tooling ball

We have three very ancient manual optical comparators, and a Keyence IM-6010, which is one of the older models, it might have been cutting-edge about 15 years ago.

I'm unfamiliar with sine plates and tooling balls, I will have to do some research on how to work with them. These measurements will be taken for first and last article inspection.

Thank you for the suggestion.

If you have repeat angles I think best to make a Go/nogo gauge..that is a quick and easy check once the gauge is in hand.

optical comparator with a straight pin held to the angle often gets 1/2 degree and better a quick as a wink.

For a mile like 3* a hand protractor should be OK.

Small bevel protractor is handy for +- 1*

Precise Universal Bevel Protractors - BP-301 - Penn Tool Co., Inc

loop is handy to set such.

If you have repeat angles I think best to make a Go/nogo gauge..that is a quick and easy check once the gauge is in hand.