What's new
What's new

measuring whether my camshaft is bent

ozgeorge

Plastic
Hi all, I'm a beginner so please forgive me if this is an easy problem, but I'd appreciate some help.

I have a camshaft from a motorcycle and the tip has a thread which engages the timing advance mechanism. This tip has become bent (don't ask). I think I can fix this by facing it and tapping a new small hole on my minilathe HOWEVER, I would like to be sure that the camshaft itself isn't bent from the force that bent the tip.

I have tried to measure this by putting it in the lathe and using a dial gauge as shown and there is some variation as I turn the chuck by hand however I feel that this could well be due to the piece not being straight in the chuck. Does anyone have any better ideas to accurately measure this?

Please note that if I was to actually turn this I would use some kind of lathe steady with a bearing.

Thanks!

george
IMG_8110.jpg

This really should have been posted in the General forum as this isn't really a Metrology question.

First- You really want to check this accurately where and how much is "bent". Not knowing what bike you have I'll say that the camshaft spins in journals with caps that have very little clearance. Hope you marked which caps go where and which side goes forward as this important for most modern bike motors. A wear pattern is developed from OEM assembly and switching caps or orientation may severely affect longevity. The tight clearances between shaft/caps (consult your manual) demand that the camshaft be mapped for deviation.