What's new
What's new

Micrometer barrel adjustment

DanielF

Plastic
A new boy here, so first let me briefly introduce myself...

I'm a retired electronics engineer, who occasionally dabbles in machining as an adjunct to my hobby electronic projects (e.g. CNC drilling/routing then bending sheet metal for electronics enclosures, chassis etc). Thus I occasionally have need to measure sheet thicknesses, and so on.

So I recently bought a cheap micrometer screw gauge from China. It seems reasonably well made, but arrived with the zero setting a little way off. Easily corrected by rotating the sleeve using the supplied spanner. But I am burdened with being a bit of a perfectionist (though I can settle for a compromise when the cost of perfectionism is too high! :D)

The remaining problem that I don't know how to adjust is illustrated in a few of the attached photos of my micrometer. (Excuse the orange cast at the top of most photos –Zero_1476devEs.jpg1mm_mark_1477devS.jpgRatchet_off_1480devS.jpgThimble_end_1498devEs.jpgSplit_taper,_nut_removed_1500devEs.jpg I took these outside the house for better lighting, but our bright orange wall reflected onto the table I was working on!) Here's a list of the photos and what each is trying to show...

Zero_1476devEs
- This shows my 'problem': when the micrometer is closed and the scale shows zero, the spindle-end of the thimble is not aligned with the 0mm line on the sleeve, by quite some distance!

1mm_mark_1477devS
- To show how much it's off, I've (roughly) aligned the thimble end with the 1mm sleeve mark, and the thimble scale then shows it is about 0.25mm out of alignment.

In case it gives some clues to how this misalignment might be corrected, I've then photographed the micrometer in three successive stages of disassembly (I took four disassembly photos, but since I'm only allowed to attach five photos total, I had to omit one :( ):
Ratchet_off_1480devS
Thimble_end_1498devEs
Split_taper,_nut_removed_1500devEs