What's new
What's new

Mitutoyo digital micrometers in a job shop

Zach1800

Plastic
I've been working in a fast paced job shop for many years and I'm thinking about upgrading some of my mics and calipers. Mostly used vernier mics and dial calipers in the past but as they go bad I'm thinking of buying mitutoyo coolant proof calipers in a couple of different lengths and a set of either the digimatic or quantumike mics. I've looked for reviews online and I'm not finding a whole lot as to whether these digital tools hold up long term or are suitable in manual/cnc job shop conditions. Is there anyone who has experience with these tools firsthand in a sometimes quick and dirty job shop?

I've got a Mitutoyo 0-1" digital mic ("QuantuMike"), Model 293-185, IP65 rated. A couple of the guys on the floor have the same. The rest are all manual with a couple of old exceptions.

It's held up perfectly fine for me in Quality, but my use is relatively light, and in a cleaner environment. The fellows at the 5-axis Mill use one or two, and they like them.

Older digital mics (one or two) that have been floating around the shop for a great many years still work, surprisingly, even though they look like a 5 year old has been beating on them with a hammer. These are older Mitutoyo digitals.

Generally speaking they are rugged. But this is all subjective I guess. Some people could break about anything they are so talented.

Go get one and test drive it in your environment. They aren't that expensive anymore IMO, and accurate.

Like any measuring instrument treat them with respect. I have a 6" Mitt that is over ten years old, been thru three batteries in that time and works perfect.