What's new
What's new

Mitutoyo indicator 513-402 & 513-473

Glorifire

Aluminum
A few guys at work bought those, I wasn't very impressed. Plastic bezel and just doesn't feel very well made overall. I think one of them broke within a few months. Interapid are my personal favorite, with Bestest being second. I keep my Interapids at work since I'm an inspector, and my bestests came home to use with my vmc in the garage. As for long term durability, my dad has a couple of interapids that are probably as old or older than me (40). All just my opinion though, I'm sure others have their favorites too.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

They’re fine. I agree with Chris, nothing impressive either way.

I have Bestest, interapid, Mitutoyo, Fowler, and a few others. I prefer Bestest so all my good tenth indicators are that make. The .0005” are Mitutoyo and Interapid. The interapid is nicer and more compact so I save it for fine work, and the mitutoyos are for general mag-base and machine use. They’ve held up fine but I’m not generally spraying them with chips or coolant.

Only problem I’ve had in any of my DTIs is a tenths-reading mitutoyo where a loose lever pivot caused backlash in the reading.

You can’t go wrong with Bestest, Interapid, Mitutoyo, even Starrett (not the last words—those are trash). The mitutoyos and Starretts have thicker bezels than Interapid and Bestest, but still work well and have fine action and repeatability.

The better Mitutoyo in the coarser range is the 513-442. Its dial goes clockwise regardless of which way the probe is pushed, and it has a second hand showing where the probe is with respect to the total .06" range. The Interapids have the second feature, but not the first. I have an old Compac that has both features, but I think it has been discontinued. The Mitutoyo is a little larger than an Interapid, mostly in the thickness of the dial assembly. Yes, the bezel is plastic, but that does not bother me.