What's new
What's new

A Newbie Tool Review.. Of Sorts...

travis.taylor

Aluminum
Hello All!!!

I'm just starting out in the machine trade (I'm still in votech, infact...) and I've been
trying hard to get together what I have come to consider the basics in precision tools.
Strangely enough, it seems like I'm the only one in my class to even consider purchasing
tools for some reason. Instead of spending $100 on cheap Chinese import tools, everyone
seems content on fighting over broken Chinese tools provided by the school...
Pure flabbergastation on my part I'll tell you what..

Anyways, after doing a lot of research on different tools from different brands and spending
pretty much any/all of my (very little) extra money on tools, I feel for some reason compelled
to share what I have gathered and my opinion on all of it...

I will say that I have a strong preference for manual machines vs. CNC.. CNC is just kind of
boring to me I guess. It seems like everyone simply wants something engraved. IDK...

P.s. I hope this isn't simply an annoyance to those on this forum. Definitely not my intention!!!

As you're about to see, I've developed quite the bias toward Starrett products. So there's your
Warning!!!:D

First up, a little something about compasses/dividers for drafting...
I first purchased a $10 compass from office depot. WRONG.
I then purchased a new $20 compass from Staedtler. Wrong again.
Both of these compasses were just about worthless due to the lack of quality. Very difficult to work with...
I decided to jump on ebay and look at "vintage" offerings and found this...

SAM_1529.jpg

What a wonderful tool!!! It is a "Blue Dot" VEMCO compass probably manufactured in the ?'60s?
I ended up getting it plus the leadholder and 6" flexible rule by Lufkin for $12 and put it all in a Starrett
soft case. Probably the best money I've ever spent quality for dollar wise....

Next up, my "go-to" set, a student kit from Starrett. I forget the model #...

SAM_1530.jpg