Opinions on CMM brands/recommendations
Close
Login to Your Account
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Tennessee
    Posts
    521
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    256
    Likes (Received)
    400

    Default Opinions on CMM brands/recommendations

    Backstory,

    I've used B&S 9.12.9 and 9.15.9 for 12 years or so. Our 30 year old machine has crapped out to the point where not only will Hexagon not to a trade in/refurbish deal, the bill to fix it all approaches 40K. My boss has decided that's too much to sink into 30 year old technology. And he's right.

    It has fallen to me to research a replacement. I'm currently open to the major brands:

    Hexagon (B&S)
    Mitutoyo
    Zeiss
    Nikon
    Wenzell

    I don't relish the thought of having to relearn proprietary software, but it's not that hard.

    Our use for this machine is going to be with a laser scanning head on stamping die details for reverse engineering purposes. So the proprietary software needs point cloud to solid functionality.

    I'm asking for opinions, pros/cons.
    Last edited by Rewt; 08-20-2019 at 03:11 PM. Reason: changed to "details" for clarity

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Aberdeen, UK
    Posts
    3,567
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    1235
    Likes (Received)
    1350

    Default

    I can't help with brand choice (ours is an old LK, now Nikon, they seem to be well regarded but I don't have anything to compare it to).

    But software, for your purposes you have some options that are CMM brand agnostic and that have strong support for point cloud work, namely PowerInspect and Polyworks.

    I've used PowerInspect on ours for a few years now and like it, but we don't do scanning/point cloud.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Posts
    3,730
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    1539
    Likes (Received)
    1764

    Default

    We had a Hexagon machine a few years back. It did not repeat for poo if you ask me BUT I think that was purely the operator IMO... Never used laser or point cloud so no clue on that stuff.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default

    We bought a Wenzel with a Renishaw Revo head in 2017. Been a very good machine to this point. No problems. I've never used laser scanning. And I don't know if Renishaw even offers it. But the machine itself has been very reliable.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Currently working on getting a OGP SmartScope Flash 500 up and running we got second hand. It seems like a decent machine although I am not a expert with these by any means. Customer service with getting parts for it is pretty good so far which is always a plus in my book. we got the machine form another site that pretty much dismantled it and left it to me to rebuild. Not sure if that helps but my point is how customer service treats you after you buy the product is important to me at least especially if you can find parts for a ageing machine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Flushing/Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    7,780
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    390
    Likes (Received)
    6475

    Default

    I would send out some sample parts with instructions on what you want checked and request a video of it being done multiple times.
    I always ask that the part be removed and then reloaded with some shift/rotate on the multi runs...this is important and makes you cringe if you are the guy doing the demo.
    Not only can you get speed and some sort of repeat you find out how the support system is for you as a user.
    I spent a lot of time working tightly with LK and the family in the days of PDP computers so a bias. (stories here about a company named Renishaw and turning a good person loose)
    Before personal computers there was a saying that "No had to apologize for buying a IBM". That saying sort of applies to Zeiss.
    Bob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Iowa
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Our shop has been running a retrofitted Hexagon machine with Renishaw REVO head, our guys love it. The speed on that thing is unreal, we went away from Hexagon because of the support and reliability of the X1H scanning head it came with, it only last about 5 months. As noted above Wenzel makes a good machine if you are looking new.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •