What's new
What's new

Reverse engineering tips? CMM? Use the bridgeport DRO?

TurboFabSupply

Hot Rolled
I will be reverse engineering lots of stuff in the coming months. Mostly simple hole locations and sizes with diameters that are +/-.004 on 2.5 axis parts. I was thinking a fast method for stuff like this would be gage pins in a drill chuck and trying to find the centers of holes then just writing down the coordinates as I get them on the DRO.

What are your tips or instructions for finding hole and radii locations quickly? At what point is it worth buying a CMM? If I have never used or even seen in person a CMM before but I am very highly mechanically inclined and about half way through a BSME. Could I figure it out pretty easily most likely? When should I consider buying one?

Any other quick reverse engineering tips?

Depends how accurate you need to be. Putting flat part on a scanner and scanning them as .pdfs is a low tech way of "digitizing". You can convert the .pdf to a .dxf and bring it into CAD.

A CMM is very expensive and most use a proprietary programming language. Something like a Faro arm would be cheaper, but still pricey. For high accuracy you can send things out to be laser scanned.

Another option would be scanning with a probe on a CNC machine. Great for hole locations, kinda clumsy for profiles or 3D work.

Or the old school methods of transfer punches or measuring between gage pins for hole locations. Again won't help you with profiles or 3D.

Can you recommend a scan to cad software? It would work for most of what I want to do but I have found that most leave lots of artifacts and are poor at making smooth arcs. I tried Mastercam X4's raster to vector with poor results and a few years ago I tried Scan2CAD but didn't really figure it out nor did I need to at the time. Might give that a look again.