What's new
What's new

Some input on use of Federal Dimensionair gage please

Derek Smalls

Stainless
Hi folks, A while ago I picked up a Federal Dimensionair flatness gage. I was able to get it for pretty short money, so I figured I have a new toy. Issue is, I have NO experience with air gages what so ever, and I'm having some trouble sorting this thing out. I've tried searching for info but I haven't come up with much. The thing seemed pretty straight forward at first, aint but one way to connect the lines, then adjust the pressure with the built in regulator until the needle on the pressure gage is between the limit lines, but now I'm not sure that the gage is working correctly. Either that or I'm just missing something. As soon as pressure is applied to the system, the needle on the measuring dial snaps to the six o'clock position, rotating clockwise. This is with no pressure on the contact tip and it seems fully closed(no air leaking by it). By putting pressure on the contact tip, it opens and lets air flow past. I can, by doing that, get the needle on the measuring dial to start dropping(turning counter clockwise) but it moves very slowly, taking almost a minute to move to the 12 o'clock, or zero, position, and will go no further than that. I can move it slightly with the zero setting adjustment, but not enough to be able to use the entire measuring range. It rotates counter clockwise much more slowly than I would imagine it should, at this speed the thing is rather impractical so I'm sure this is not how it's designed to work. I'm at a loss. If any of you guys are familiar with these things and are not totally confused by my explanation of the situation, I'd love some advice. Thanks. Oh, If anyone wants pics, I'll get some posted later.