What's new
What's new

Surface plate reconditioning in Australia

topes

Plastic
Hi folks,

I got a Ignyte/Granite surface plate a little while ago. Its got a hairline crack and a few rough spots from what I assume is extensive wear at some point in its life. I figured it would be possible to get this reconditioned but finding someone in Australia (ideally near Melbourne) is proving to be an extremely difficult task.

I'm pretty new to this whole machining thing and I don't really have the tools and materials available to test or recondition the plate myself (it _seems_ simple enough to do with the right tools).

If anyone has any reccomendations for anywhere I could go to get this done it would be most apprecaited!

Thanks!

PS. I hope this is the right spot to post, i'm new! Sorry!

This is one of those threads where more information would help. The thing that bothers me most is the "hairline crack". How long and how deep is it and how big (LxBxH) is the plate?

Rather than looking for a place to "recondition" you might get advice from a place that sells granite plates as to your best option.

Appreciate the input folks. Thanks heaps.
I've attached (i hope) and image that shows the hairline crack. Its not very deep but I'm no expert. Only the slightly larger chip missing is something you can feel with your fingernail.
When looking from the side, you can't see the crack as having penetrated at all.

Its 60x45cm in size and 5cm thick on a 5cm base (same material).

If the crack is a show-stopper, is it possible to salvage it by cutting it and making two plates and reconditioning those?

Cheers!

surface.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20181230_005805.jpg
    IMG_20181230_005805.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 176
  • IMG_20181230_005827.jpg
    IMG_20181230_005827.jpg
    86.2 KB · Views: 168
As long as it is flat it is usable. One could fill the crack with anything if a problem.