What's new
What's new

Gtol? Concentricity or position?

olympictool1

Aluminum
Disclaimer: Self taught GTOL user!

Hey guys I'm drawing a print and i wanted to convey to the guys on the floor (or me so i dont forget when running it) that i need the two posts on each side of this part to be positionally relative to each other. Ive attached a picture of how i currently have the print but im not sure if i have now created a much more complex part then it really is. The posts will all have bearings on them that sit above a convyer belt and assist gravity in holding it flat. So that being said what i am trying to accomplish is to make sure the bearings all touch the conveyor belt more or less. PLease tell me if im on the right track, thank you!........

GTOL1.jpg

Looks fine to me? The other alternative would be to just press in 2 shafts into the part but that tolerance is relatively easy.... Well depending on what they are making it with?

The only thing that introduces a problem is that you're identifying your datums on a centerline that goes through 3 diameters. Which one are they to be concentric to?

You'd be better off using a linear dimension for the diameter on one side, attach a Datum symbol to the dimension itself, making it clear WHICH centerline is the datum, and then the concentricity will be fine.

When identifying a centerline as a Datum you have to be careful. The centerline in your design is perfect, but it will not be, once made. There will be a centerline for the O.D. of the boss on each side, a centerline for the through-bore, and a centerline for the .680 radius of the plate.

ETA: This is the first google image result that describes what I'm talking about: http://help.solidworks.com/2011/Eng...g/wn_2011/Drawings-datum-lin-dim-centered.gif

The only thing that introduces a problem is that you're identifying your datums on a centerline that goes through 3 diameters. Which one are they to be concentric to?