What's new
What's new

Thread Ring Gauge Questions

Hi-Tech Redneck

Plastic
Hi All, 1st post here so bear with me....

I've been doing a little research on thread ring gauges and unless I've missed something, what I've found is that there are basically 3 types or styles of ring gauge, Solid, Southern Style and AGD.

Southern Style seems to be the most expensive, My question is, is it really that much better.

Currently the company I work with uses the AGD style but on some of the most common sizes the gauge doesn't live very long(in some cases less than 6 mos.). I'm new to this Metrology and Machining world, but I'm not so sure I believe a different style would increase lifespan. I'm more apt to believe maybe the gauge maker/ supplier is using inferior material to make the gauges.

Just looking for your thoughts on different styles, different coatings, Makers/ suppliers...etc....Thx

I've been doing a little research on thread ring gauges and unless I've missed something, what I've found is that there are basically 3 types or styles of ring gauge, Solid, Southern Style and AGD.

Southern Style seems to be the most expensive, My question is, is it really that much better.

Currently the company I work with uses the AGD style but on some of the most common sizes the gauge doesn't live very long(in some cases less than 6 mos.). I'm new to this Metrology and Machining world, but I'm not so sure I believe a different style would increase lifespan. I'm more apt to believe maybe the gauge maker/ supplier is using inferior material to make the gauges.

Just looking for your thoughts on different styles, different coatings, Makers/ suppliers...etc....Thx

Huh? I've always thought there were only two types of thread "ring" gauges. BTW not to be confused with those that actually measure.

Go/NoGo ring gauges and this type
threadgage.jpg