What's new
What's new

What do people do with a height gauge like this?

Frigzy

Aluminum
Hello,

I have an opportunity to buy a 18" Brown & Sharpie height gauge for $200. Could anyone please suggest if I should go for it?

I'm a hobbyist and occasionally I take measurements on a surface plate. I have a Noga-style indicator holder and a vintage, non magnetic indicator stand.
Recently, I tried to measure a spindle shaft with a 0.0001" indicator and I think both of my indicator stands moved a lot - I couldn't get repeatable measurements.

Would the height gauge be a good purchase? Is there any use for it given that I'm a hobbyist? Is the price reasonable?

Thanks!

01313_gIF1Xist2V3_1200x900.jpg

Good to have a simple V nose surface gauge..It can compare height for a plate check, off-plate height to a jo block stack and with a ball can check the squareness of a part. Some guys will notch a surface gauge straight end side to add a bug radius also for checking squareness.
Brown And Sharpe 621 HARDENED Surface Gage Vintage Machinists Tool. England. | eBay
MITUTOYO 10” HEIGHT GAUGE MACHINIST TOOL. Used. | eBay
these can be handy..

Noga-style indicator holder is only good for holding and not much use for a plate check.
The B&S non measuring height gauge you are considering is not as handy as an old-fashioned vernier height gauge for fewer bucks.
You did not mention type of machines you use..but having a plate the ones I mentioned might be handy.
IMHO

I've got a clone of the 12" Mitsubishi twin-column height gauge. This has a (mechanical) digital read-out for large scale range with a caliper-style dial indicator for thousandths between the digital markers. For most measurements and scribing, this is infinitely preferable to a comparator-only non-indicating height gage. For the most precise measurements, both indicating and non-indicating styles will need to work comparator-style with gage block stacks, but I rarely need to measure 6-12" dimensions to tenths in my shop.