What's new
What's new

Is Yards per Minute (ypm) a thing?

bkozan

Plastic
I'm quite new to this hobby, and I recently bought a very large, very ridiculous lathe for a hobbyist. The feeds/speeds charts on the lathe are all in yards/min, which I have never seen before, and the machinery's handbook is definitely all in fpm. Was this normal at some point in the past? Is it simply because my lathe is sooo long that they decided yards instead of feet? Obviously I can simply divide by 3, but I was just curious why.

FWIW its a 1968 Tarnow TUJ48 x 2500 (Polish)

More seriously, I really wouldn't expect that to refer to yards per minute. It's a Polish built lathe, no? Would there be a unit or term used in that part of the world that's closer to a customary metric unit it might be referring to?

If you work out the numbers on the chart it's pretty damn close. Has to be yards/min. meant on the chart. If you work the numbers it is actually m/min, they probably just short-cutted to "yards" to ship to a market with inch measuring standards without having to redo the entire chart.

If you work out the numbers on the chart it's pretty damn close. Has to be yards/min. meant on the chart. If you work the numbers it is actually m/min, they probably just short-cutted to "yards" to ship to a market with inch measuring standards without having to redo the entire chart.

Yeah, that's a good thought. I'd buy it.

It's Polish iron curtain era lathe so they were probably not that familiar what is commonly used in imperialistic countries.

It's Polish iron curtain era lathe so they were probably not that familiar what is commonly used in imperialistic countries.

Not likely at all. Poland has has "family connections" since (at least) our Revolutionary War. immigrant Poles were major contributors to our technical industries far more than farming or dairy. Eg: mining, steelmaking, automaking, railway, shipbuilding, aircraft, metalworking in general, and many kept in touch with family.