What's new
What's new

10EE Oil leak

metalmender

Plastic
I am new to this discussion board and have read through the Monarch archives with great interest. It contains a wealth of information.

I have recently taken delivery on a 1953 10EE MG / square dial. The lathe is used, caked up with cutting oil, but does not appear to be abused. I will work on establishing accuracy levels shortly. While doing my post delivery check out, I noticed the change gear box was low on oil and the chip tray had some oil in it. At that time I attributed the chip tray oil to the drain down of cutting oil from previous use.I replenished the oil level to the sight glass level and cleaned out the oil in the chip tray but I have now found the oil seeping out in the front area of the lead screw / feed screw. It is not leaking around the shafts where they exit the gear box. Is there a gasket or seal in the gear cover ? I have tightened the visible screws. The manual that came with the machine illustrates shafts / gears etc. but shows no detail of casting, covers or attachment methods of key enclosures. Is there a more detailed manual of the total machine construction available ? Any suggestions as to what may be necessary to correct the leak ? Any help would be appreciated.

Looking at a sectional drawing it looks like there might be a seal - EE-3900 on both the upper and lower shafts. You could give Monarch a call and see what they say, talk to Dave Krinkie.

I have had the garbox apart once a couple of years ago, as far as I remember there is a regular paper gasket under the lid holding the two output shaft bearings. I think you may have to take the complete gearbox out to get at the problem. Use the occation to clean out old goo (mine had 1/2" of sediment) and go over the bearings.

Regards, Ole