What's new
What's new

10EE round dial end gear bearings

GrantGunderson

Hot Rolled
Most of the original bearings for the end gear on my 10EE are shot.

What are you guys using for replacements? I know New Departure is long out of business, and I suspect that modern bearing technology has only surpassed what was used in the lathe back in 1944. I did a forum search but didn't find much info on modern replacements.

I am no expert in bearing nomenclature and most of what I typically work on is pretty standard off the shelf bearings for high-end mountian bikes.

The bearing numbers I am looking at replacing are:
New Departure C487505V. No idea what the C is, but the V is SNAP RING LOCATED ON OPPOSITE SIDE FROM STANDARD

New Departure NM0205B. No Idea what NM stands for. the B is DIMENSIONAL AND/OR INTERNAL DEVIATION WHEN SUFFIXED TO STANDARD BEARING NUMBER

New Departure C8505. No idea what the C is

Am I correct in thinking that all 3 of the above bearings are ABEC 5 rated?

The last bearing is made by SKF
2202 HC LW02. No Idea what HC or LW02 stand for.

We have a bearing and gear supply store here in town that I deal with a lot. When I need bearings for my personal stuff I'll have them find me the new replacement numbers and then cross reference them. Then I just hop on ebay or one of the outlet stores and shop around. The 600.00 dollar bearings I needed for back gear/seed reduction box I found on Ebay for 35 bucks new. Don

Most replacement bearings will be available. I just went through my whole round dial and as I recall the only ones I had trouble with sourcing were for the gears on the headstock for driving the threading potion of the quick change gearbox. As you have identified the code specifying the snap ring groove on the opposite side of normal....as I recall that was the issue I had. In my case I took off the inside shields, cleaned out the original bearings, greased them, and put them back to work.