What's new
What's new

10ee Sundstrand drive rescue

JPD

Aluminum
Greetings all,
First post, but long time reader. I just a few weeks ago rescued a 1939 10ee, serial number 7158. I have a Rivett 608, and thought that was enough of a project for me, so I found this about a mile from my house and couldn’t say no. It’s in good shape overall no major obvious problems except a few cracked cover castings and a frozen sundstrand drive. I’m guessing it was stored in an unheated space for some time. I have not indicated the ways or evaluated the machine much, but everything seems fairly clean. I am not a machinist by trade so it will more than meet my needs.

First issue and the reason for posting, is the drive. I get it, they’re rare as hens teeth, but I figured I would put it out there...
So I have broken it down, and after a week or so of cleaning, soaking, evaporust, unicorn tears, and a brass hammer, I have freed up everything. Most of the bearings were frozen. Some came back easily, but the worst were the wobbler bearings, the open cage main pump bearings, well, I got them. It was days in the bath, and hours of cajoling, but they’re running free and easy. The pump pistons only took a brass drift and a light tap, and they popped easily. They were retracted into the cylinders so they were fairly clean. A very few have some very light pitting on the domed bearing end, but nothing severe. So it all went back together with everything intact, free of rust and gunk, and new gaskets.

Now the tricky part. As there’s no real information available, save Nick Scholte’s excellent write up, the 6 page service bulletin, and the monarch manual, I need to put this out: