What's new
What's new

1942 10ee power questions

TexasDan

Plastic
Just bought a 1942 Round dial Monarch 10ee and I’m quite excited to get it powered up. I’m new to the lathe world so please forgive me if I sound stupid. Soo here it goes.

The motor is a 3hp reliance 230v armature 115v field. I however don’t know what that means. First question. Is it 3 phase?

After searching the internet and this forum I’m even more confused because in addition to the motor not specifying it’s phase I also have an extra box on mine. You’ll have to look at the photos for more info. Is it part of it a phase converter?

The power chord has 4 wires. Didn’t get a photo of that but nothing is marked on the chord or the box.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks for letting me be a part of the forum. I look forward to making some new friends and learning a few tricks :-)

IMG_0973.jpgIMG_0976.jpgIMG_0978.jpgIMG_0977.jpgIMG_0983.jpg

Last edited:
That's not a standard drive, someone's changed out the original. get some better pictures of the inside of the new box and what's feeding it as well as what's in the bed under the tailstock and some folks may be able to take a guess.

The Motor that you have is 0 phase in other words it runs of of DC volts. Your lathe used to be a MG unit to convert the 3 phase power to DC. The box you have is a home made thing to convert the AC to DC (rather crude) it uses variable transformers and solid state rectifiers to get the dc for the motor and field for the motor.

Wow

I'm not sure that control is gonna work, but it appears to be:

One rectifier 230 volts to armature, variable with top control
One rectifier 120 volts to field, adjustable for field weakening for higher top speed by lower control

The reason it says not to touch the bottom one is it will result in runaway unless used with some intelligence

Single phase anyway

a bit scary