What's new
What's new

Aloris AXA or BXA tooling for 10 EE?

Ronlad

Plastic
I'm a newbie in the EE world. I just bought a 1959 EE with retro-fit solid-state drive, but no tooling. Which should I get, an Aloris AXA or larger BXA toolpost? Both should fit, but BXA has larger tool capacity?

Also, what chuck should I get? 3, 4 or 6-jaw? Is Bison steel OK?

What collet closer is good for this machine?

Thanks.........Ronlad

Tooling is very personal.

In my book, a 10EE deserves a wedge-type post, preferably of domestic manufacturer.

Whether you opt for AXA or BXA, or even a BXA-I, depends upon a number of factors.

The machine will accept both, but the AXA (the piston-type variant is the AX) will be towards the upper range, whereas the BXA (the piston-type variant is the BX) will be towards the lower range. Holders interchange well, within a size (AXA/AX to a competitor's AXA/AX, BXA/BX to a competitor's BXA/BX).

Import versions of the Multifix are again available, but the holders are very expensive.

Bison is fine, but the machine was originally supplied with forged steel chucks, and these are a good investment. The Cushman and Skinners are now made in Asia. Bison, of course, is Poland. Pratt Burnerd is England. You will need an independent chuck. A scroll chuck is nice, but a low quality scroll chuck is a waste of money.

I like the Sjogren, and 2J collets. Others like the Monarch nosepice and 5C collets. One enterprising craftsman constructed a D1-4" collet chuck for ER32 collets, and this is also an alternative, particularly if the design is modified for D1-3" mount.

Ron,

I see you are located in San Jose. We're located in the foothills out east of you, probably an easy drive.

If you'd like, I'll invite you to visit, and get some 'first-hand' or 'hands-on' familiarisation with the tooling for our EE. There are, actually, quite a few little 'tricks of the trade', which you need to know to get good work with your EE.