What's new
What's new

Basic Electronics

MARVINGARDENS

Aluminum
If this is posted in the wrong forum, Moderator please delete this thread.

I am an accountant by education and experience and worked as a law enforcement officer for many years. I hold Bachelors Degrees in Accounting and Economics. As for science classes in college, I chose biology and astronomy. I have a basic understanding of electrical systems as far as house and older car wiring. I understand how motors, generators, and switches work.

I know nothing of electronics. I currently have a 10EE with a Sunstrand drive but am pretty sure this one will not be my last 10EE. I hope that my next one will be running but as I read post offering help to owners and the discussion often includes resistors, diodes, exciters, etc. To be honest I don't know what any of these things are and do.

Can someone recommend books, videos, etc., that would give me a basic understanding of electronic systems, reading diagrams, and testing? I've checked and there are no local college classes offered although I did enjoy a great welding program and got a certificate last year at the local junior college.

Thank you.

Bob

Look at this on eBay Science Fair Exploring Electronics Lab 2 Project Kit 28 265 Radio Shack | eBay

RadioShack sold many of these kinds of learning labs and there are a lot of them listed on eBay for cheap. I had a similar one back when I was around 10 yrs old. They have all the different components and a book that explains what they do and how to hook them together to build different projects.

If you learn better by doing than reading, this will take you a long ways.