Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Hey guys, it will definitely be for hobby work. My main focus is woodworking but I have always loved machinery and plan to make of brass pieces for furniture, WW machinery repair, and even some pieces for an old BMW I plan on restoring. I am an engineer by trade and am fortunate enough to work with some great machinist, one of which is willing to help me inspect the machine.

The machine is currently having a tube repaired/replaced, so as soon as it is up and running they will give me a call to stop by and run the machine. I saw a great video of a gentleman testing his beautiful Myford lathe. I plan on taking some indicators and a test bar to test the for taper and spindle camming. I'll see if I can bring a tool holder and make some actual cuts.

Aside from the beauty and terrific engineering of the Monarch, they seem to retain there value, which is great on something that is quite expensive.

I am very much leaning on purchasing the machine and will get back to you on the condition of the lathe.

Aside from the ways. does it appear to be missing a piece for the taper attachment?

Once again, thanks for the support.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Ohio
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I too can't believe how clean that lathe is, especially on the inside. Don't they use oil? Anyway, I would go out of my way to find someone that works at the plant where that lathe was and find some of the history on why it was traded in and what it's past was spent doing. For 5K (asking price) you have to know someone who knows someone that works there. Time well spent to find the facts, how long has this machine dealer had it?

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)