What's new
What's new

Convert Monarch 16CY From 440v to 220v Questions

Typical171

Plastic
I want to convert my 1942 16CY to 220v. The lathe came from a GM metal fab. plant and it looks like maybe the electrical components may have been updated from the way it cam from the factory? Im not sure. Before I removed the 5 HP motor I verified that is was wired for a 440v supply. Attached below are some pics of the components inside the box, and a pic of the motor I.D. plate. Im not an electrician and I have been researching this subject but I still have some questions. I know for one I need to replace the heaters and from the picture of the Cultler Hammer info on the heaters,( sorry the picture is out of focus) I take it I need the #1039 heaters for the 13.7 amp wired for the 220v? And this is where I am confused on the starter itself, do I need a different size starter? FYI the lathe has a work light, A PB start button, an E-stop button, a limit switch that has to be made by the chuck T-wrench, and a dro. Thanks in advance,

Joe

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

After you rewire your motor for 220V change the heaters for the right ones You will need to reconnect the control transformer from 440v to 220v input and every thing should work as the relay coils are 120v that comes from the control transformer.

After you rewire your motor for 220V change the heaters for the right ones You will need to reconnect the control transformer from 440v to 220v input and every thing should work as the relay coils are 120v that comes from the control transformer.
Thanks for the reply. If I understand the wiring 220v for the step down transformer I will need one hot leg going to H1 and H3 and the other hot leg to H2 and H4 would that be correct?

That does sounds correct without seeing the connections the two winding in parallel and not in series.

Your existing motor start will work just fine.