What's new
What's new

Correct bolt length to attach a 10EE to a pallet...

K. Byas

Plastic
I'm in the process of acquiring a '63 10EE and I'm starting to acquire materials for a pallet. I've searched through several of the rigging posts on this forum and can't find the answer I'm looking for. Assuming I want to through bolt a 10EE to a 4x4, what's the length of ⅝-11 bolt I would need? I'm planning on counter sinking the hole so I would be bolting through 3" of material. I'm planning on using ⅝-11 grade 8 bolts based on other recommendations in this forum. I am curious though if a grade 5 bolt or grade B7 would be sufficient for the job and why they would be insufficient if not. I'm not going to be penny wise or pound foolish here but am curious why a grade 5 bolt at 70% of the strength of a grade 8 bolt would not work to attach a 3500# ish lathe to a pallet. It should probably be obvious from that statement that I'm not an engineer :)

TIA,
Karl

I am an engineer and I'm sure a single 3/8" grade 5 bolt will swing in the air a 10EE all day long. NO worries on 5/8" whatever grade you get to hold it to a pallet. I do agree 5/8 is the right size .... at least on my older round dial. It is no small task to elevate the lathe and get dunnage under it including the extra distance required to run through bolts up from the underside to secure it to said dunnage. Not sure what your plan is there. Having some 4x4 under there secured to lathe will help stabilize it for sure. There are plenty of horror stories of lathes being face planted into the dirt and virtually destroying them...even from "qualified" and "experienced" riggers.

For my money I would be worried about picking the lathe and placing it on your trailer (presumably) at the source and picking the lathe and setting on the ground at the destination. On the trailer secure the hell out of it with HD nylon ratchet straps that won't allow it to tip and you will be fine.