What's new
What's new

Fix it, limp on or boat anchor! help me decide the fate of my 10ee...

Vetro

Plastic
This 10ee fell into my lap for a song a little under a year ago. I'm finally just now really getting into it and it looks like its got some pretty severe bed/saddle wear. So, now i have to figure out what to do with it.
Im a glass worker by trade and mostly machine in service to that. Lately there has been demand for some of my tools so ive been expanding my machining capacity a bit. this lathe is my only one at the moment. I am good with basic restoration but have minimal scraping experience. so here are my options as i understand them and i would love some input...

-fix it...a very steep hill to climb. Probably means a regrind and scrape of the bed followed by moglice and scrape of the saddle and TS. Would love to do this and the experience would be a professional boon as I work on reconditioning glass lathes from time to time, but...as i understand it, it would mean months of work, major expense, new skills and equipment and no working machine for quite a while.

-limp by...I do a fair amount of non precision stuff like tool handles which would be fine but i will run into issues eventually. Also, the machine needs other things. nothing major yet but spending time and money on a machine that is not likely to last is sorta demoralizing:)

-Boat anchor/part out or sell...hate it but this is where im leaning at the moment. such a neat machine but it barely pulled $1200 at auction(from someone who backed out, hence me getting it) first time around so even selling it whole may be difficult in my area(Boston). given the good condition of many of its parts im guessing i would get more going the full stripping and parting route...but it would kill me a little to strip it, especially as its still generally running fine other than the wear, has functional TA, ELSR, threading is good, reasonable backlash, etc..

what do yall think?