What's new
What's new

Help with motor wiring issue

jeittreim

Plastic
Hey all,

Need a bit of help on this one. I have a Monarch 61 that I am getting up and running. I have it wired with a VFD, and it works. However, I believe the motor is wired for 400 volts and I need it for 240. When I pulled the motor out to clean it up and re-wire it, I can only find 3 wires going into the case instead of 6. I even reached into the case to see if any of the wires were pushed back in, but couldn't feel anything. also did not see any other cover plates on the motor where other connections might be.

How do I get this motor properly wired for 240v use? if it stays wired for 480, will this damage the motor?

Attached are pics of the motor and info plates.

Thanks for any help.

motor1.jpg

motor2.jpg

motor3.jpg

Not that I am an expert, but some thing smells funny.
As mentioned 2 plates??
Operating at 440 VAC not common.
IMHO It maybe wired only for 440 3ph.
Ohm out wires and post here
What piece of equipment did or does this motor power?
Worst case: I have seen some weird electrical things in older, or overseas equipment, lastly someone have had their mitts in there prior to you. I say this cause from what I can make out from one tag there should be 6 wires.
Post ALL the info you can, may make sense to someone with more knowledge than I.

How do I get this motor properly wired for 240v use?

See black background tag and the diagram lower left on that tag

In other words

"L" wires are bringing the juice in from where ever
"T" wires are coming from inside motor

L1 goes to T1 and T7
L2 goes to T2 and T8
L3 goes to T3 and T9

T4, T5 and T6 are together but not connected to anything else

THIS OF COURSE REQUIRES YOU TO HAVE THE NINE T wires loose to do what needs to be done

Red back ground tag may entirely supersede this - three T wires available to hook line wires to, period, and 440/460/480 operation exclusively