What's new
What's new

K-13 13x 30"

63steward

Plastic
Hello All,
I recently purchased a K-13 at auction and it seems to be ok shape. It needs some belts, cleaning, and lube system work. It came w/ an Aloris CA tool post, 4 good quality chucks and has a taper attachment.I am new to machining, so please bear with me. I am wondering if there is supposed to be a casting that attaches from the rod that runs through the pinion gear (where one adjusts the degrees or inches per foot of the desired taper) to the rear way of the lathe. The manual I found online doesn't give a good detailed picture or description of setting it. I have yet to plug it in, just got power rigged up and opted to go with a new derated Lenze VFD. I just have to move it and wire it up. Does anyone have any photos or a can help with this question?
I know it's not as solid or common as the 10EE for 16" models, but should suit my hobby machining needs well.
Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• N7q9c9Y8ROaNghkMbEpNWQ.jpg
    N7q9c9Y8ROaNghkMbEpNWQ.jpg
    91.9 KB · Views: 197
  • fpqYV8EqR%WtU3o9RVIdhg.jpg
    fpqYV8EqR%WtU3o9RVIdhg.jpg
    90.9 KB · Views: 165
  • MjftCidwSQ26yCESvMAPzg.jpg
    MjftCidwSQ26yCESvMAPzg.jpg
    96.8 KB · Views: 164
  • knZD%6AOR0GmCdVPjtaUZg.jpg
    knZD%6AOR0GmCdVPjtaUZg.jpg
    96 KB · Views: 156
  • KG7D86zZR%utlOoIZJHAeQ.jpg
    KG7D86zZR%utlOoIZJHAeQ.jpg
    95.3 KB · Views: 162
How about posting a picture of the head stock?

That is one stout machine for it's size weighing in at 3800 lbs.! Nice find.

Can't help you much on the bed clamp for the taper attachment. That's something you'll have to make and I'm sure someone here can provide you with pictures of one that is close to yours. My guess, one off of a 14"-16" will probably be close enough to work off of.

Thanks for sharing, Ken

I'll suppose you are asking about this end of the ball bearing T/A you have