What's new
What's new

Looking for Monarch 18 CBB parts/general help restoring

backspace119

Aluminum
I've found a 1942 18 CBB for an amazing price and I'll be buying it this week. The problem is it's missing the top portion of the compound (the horizontal cross slide and swivel) and I think it's also missing the lead screw, no chuck, but pretty sure it's D1-6, which I can probably find somewhere.

I'm not against fabbing my own parts for this, but was wondering if anyone knew where I could acquire originals, if they're impossible to find, some advice on fabbing them would be appreciated too.

This is my first "real" machine so I'm pretty new to this, advice on getting the lathe up to snuff is appreciated as well.

Any and all help welcome, thanks in advance.

This is the lathe in question:

20200807_123804.jpg

Thanks for this, I actually already found that document, has good info on the leadscrew size, after looking around, I cant seem to find one that big, so I guess I'll have to figure out how to make one.

Unfortunately that doesn't have a lot of info on the cross slide other than swing length and such, I'd like to find drawings if I can't find the part, might make machining one easier.

That is not a standard cross slide. Looks to be a tall version for directly mounting a tool post, so never had a compound slide. Likewise, missing leadscrew may have never been there. (Might be a plain turning lathe, not a general purpose engine/screw cutting lathe. )

I’d look it over real close before committing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That is not a standard cross slide. Looks to be a tall version for directly mounting a tool post, so never had a compound slide. Likewise, missing leadscrew may have never been there. (Might be a plain turning lathe, not a general purpose engine/screw cutting lathe. )

I’d look it over real close before committing.