What's new
What's new

Monarch 612 Spindle removal?

Willray

Aluminum
Greetings Gentlethreadpersons,

I find this pandemic shutdown business is creating opportunities for me to try to injure myself in new and different ways, so I decided to finally bite the bullet and start trying to get the Series 612/1610 that I've been tripping over for a few years, back up and running.

Some day I'll get around to documenting the tragic backstory that leads to me having a 612 in the way and tripping over it, but that's a story for another day.

Today what my 612 needs, is the spindle to move towards the tailstock, maybe 1/2 inch.

(What it /really/ needs, is the High/Low shift fork to come out the front of the machine, so that I can repair the little cam profile piece that's supposed to activate the hydraulic shut-off when in neutral. Unfortunately, as far as I can tell, despite Monarch's near infinite wisdom in most design details, the fork can't be removed without sliding the spindle tail-ward for additional clearance. So, the spindle needs to move).

I don't think this is supposed to be a monumental task.

There are two "lock nuts", one just inside the main bearing set, and one at the outboard end of the spindle. Both are slightly buggered, probably due to some previous idiot not realizing that they're retained by stacked set screws and just trying to beat them into submission. Still, with a bit of love and persuasion, both are free to turn, and have been backed off.

The onboard "spacer collar" was joy to move, due to some damage to both its internal surface and the surface of the spindle, but it's now off as well, and the appropriate discussions have been had with galled surfaces.

The front bearing retainer is detached and loose (and the front cover for the headstock is removed).

The spindle however, seems rather dedicated to staying exactly where it is.