What's new
What's new

Monarch EE Questions

Fred T

Cast Iron
Gentlemen,
I'm not to familiar with the forum search tools so I will just ask. I am in need of two things, what ever clutch parts that make the apron feed and I need to cut some metric pitch threads and don't know where to get the proper gears nor which gears I would need. I believe the pitch is 1 but will need to verify. I have no knowledge of how to figure out the gearing. I have always been baffled by gearing so any help will be appreciated.

Thank you,
Fred T

Gentlemen,
I'm not to familiar with the forum search tools so I will just ask. I am in need of two things, what ever clutch parts that make the apron feed and I need to cut some metric pitch threads and don't know where to get the proper gears nor which gears I would need. I believe the pitch is 1 but will need to verify. I have no knowledge of how to figure out the gearing. I have always been baffled by gearing so any help will be appreciated.

Thank you,
Fred T
Which series 10EE do you have, round- or square-dial? If built in 1945 or after, it's probably a square-dial. This matters, because the metric gearing sets are different.

How accurate do the threads need to be? If you need to threads that are exactly to metric pitch (within the limits of the machine), you need a gear set that includes a 127 tooth transposer gear. If less accurate threads are required, there are approximations that can be made without the transposer that are very close.

This search string will help you find posts about threading: "site:https://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/monarch-lathes/ 10EE metric threading" it will work with duckduckgo and should work with Google (for those who enjoy having their web activity tracked).

What's going on with your feeds? Are you aware of the plunger on the apron that controls feed/thread? If it's in the threading position, feeds are locked out and vise versa.

Cal

Gentlemen,

Thank you,
Fred T