What's new
What's new

Monarch Mysteries - what are these holes for

*D'B=6bk

Aluminum
This is on a 1944 16 CY. I am new to machining and curious about the following things I encountered when refurbishing the lathe.

#1 Saddle Hole
This is a threaded blind hole in the face of the saddle that faces the headstock. What is it for?
saddle-1.jpg

#2 Tailstock Hole
This is an unthreaded blind hole in the top of the tailstock. What is it for?
tail-stock-3.jpg

#3 Apron Oil Reservoir Filler?
The pockets in the apron are filled with something like cotton thread. Was this thread-like material original from Monarch? The tailstock has a similar oil pocket but it had a felt pad in it. Would it be a good idea to replace this with the same wool felt that I am making new wipers from. I figure that the material is just there to provide a buffer for oil flowing from the saddle to the apron.
apron-2.jpg

#4 Embedment for Oil Line in Saddle
The oil lines for the cross-slide ways are embedded in some sort of material that chips out easily. Any idea what this is? Plaster of Paris maybe? This is down in the trough that the cross-slide screw sets in.
trough.jpgtrough.jpg

This is on a 1944 16 CY. I am new to machining and curious about the following things I encountered when refurbishing the lathe.

#1 Saddle Hole
This is a threaded blind hole in the face of the saddle that faces the headstock. What is it for?
View attachment 285646

I have a CY as well and I think I can help on some.

#2 Tailstock Hole
View attachment 285647

The pockets in the apron are filled with something like cotton thread. Was this thread-like material original from Monarch? The tailstock has a similar oil pocket but it had a felt pad in it. Would it be a good idea to replace this with the same wool felt that I am making new wipers from. I figure that the material is just there to provide a buffer for oil flowing from the saddle to the apron.
View attachment 285648