What's new
What's new

monarch series 60\61 parts

eddietime

Plastic
after doing some talking and looking at parts books, it looks like my lathe is a 13"x54. or if there are any experts that could shed a little light on my lathe, that would be appreciated, i am just a novice

serial tag states

14" catalogue size
16.5 swing
serial 40465
built 12-1954

need standard end gear parts and lead screw, let me know if you have some parts around.

Here is a link to some of the best information on Monarch lathes in one place. You need to read through and gather what pertains to your lathe. A lot of information for one model crosses over to other models so the more you read the more you will understand. Just use proper parts books for your model.

Monarch Machine Tool Co. - Publication Reprints | VintageMachinery.org

Its better to continue the thread that you started the other day as long as its a continuing subject. Ask another question you have to bring it back up the list.
You will be able to ask better more specific questions by reading more and understanding terminology. There are many members that know every part of your lathe but asking to tell you about your model is better read on the websites that offer information.

These books in the links below are a little outdated but a lathe is a lathe and all the basics still apply to your lathe. Reading this book is a must for a newcomer. Your lathe has more features. Please read is worth the time.
There are two halves to the book. Hope I got it right.
One more thing. Not knowing you and your general machine knowledge. These machines rip off arms and even kill. Make every move decisive and never get too comfortable or lax'ed

South Bend Lathe Works - Publication Reprints - How To Run A Lathe 55th Edition | VintageMachinery.org

South Bend Lathe Works - Publication Reprints - How to run a lathe for the beginner | VintageMachinery.org

I think this is the right book