Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default My Very Own Monarch 10EE Restoration

I'm not a machinist by trade, but I do work as a mechanical technician and I regularly have to make use of machine tools during the course of my day. I juuuust missed out on a beautiful longbed 10ee in a government surplus auction. I ended up with a square dial, with a motor-generator and tube drive. I NEVER thought I'd end up with a Monarch 10ee in my personal shop and I'm very excited to make the most of the machine.

It was originally wired for 220v and is presently connected to a 208v three phase mains. The contactor tries to close after the warm-up timer is done, but doesn't stay latched. The heater circuit on the contactor seems fine (I bypassed it just to be sure). It looks like one of the thytrons is bad based on a few things.

1. It's the only tube not warming up
    2. The heater filament ohmed out at 5k ohms
    3. The same tube didn't heat up when I switched positions

So my question is: can I assume the tube went bad on its own, or do I need to investigate other components that may have caused the tube to fail?

flir_20181231t172245.jpgflir_20181227t203918.jpgimg_20181120_194519.jpgimg_20181231_145528.jpg

2. Likes TheOldCar liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

You've already figured out the problem. If when you switched tubes, the "the good one" lit up up correctly in the bad ones spot? Looks like you just need a new, or good used tube. I don't have the post at hand but a guy on this forum designed solid state replacement for those big tubes and they seem to work quite well. That is what I would look into. All those other tubes are cheap and easily obtainable. Your unit is called a WIAD ( works in a drawer). I don't think you have a motor generator, unless you bought another lathe.

4. Likes mechanicalman liked this post
    Country