What's new
What's new

New Guy with questions

Kurt_W

Plastic
Hey all,

Seems the facility I work for is excessing some Monarch 10EE's and I was wondering what to look for as I'm new to all this.

From what I understand they were converted to solid state. The writing on some seem to indicate electrical problems.

Can anybody give me some pointers for what to look for?

Thanks,

Kurt

Converted to solid state can mean a lot of things. A electronic DC control coud have been installed or the motor replaced and a VFD installed.

If a new DC motor control has been installed then the issue is did they use the correct motor drive for the motor that is installed. Pop the covers and take some pics and notes and then come back.

OK

I'll have to check and see if it's ok to snap a few pics. How about mechanicals...what to look for there? I'm sure if I speak with somebody I know out on the shop floor, maybe I can get the skinny on these.

If they're cheap enough,the second thing you want to look for before buying and first thing after buying yours is my phone number, so I can get one too! :) hhhmmmm excessing.......that sounds like scrap metal price to me!

I sure wish I could get them at scrap metal prices. They'll be auctioned off in the coming months. These folks don't excess anything unless there's something very wrong with the equipment. I'm pretty sure there will be competition for these units.

My thought was to buy them all, make one good one of the lot and sell the rest off. That's my thought, there is another in the household that will probably object to this...

Kurt

When you check out the lathe also look for the accessories that came with the lathe.
Sometimes, but not always accessories were marked with the same ser# as the machine they came with.(steady rest, follower rest face plates.)

Tooling has a way of migrating to the most popular machine.