What's new
What's new

New to me 47 Monarch 10ee pre-run checklist? Broken tachometer?

GetBlitzified

Plastic
Hi all! I've been creeping this forum for a while now lusting over all your beautiful lathes, and now I've finally purchased my very own Monarch 10ee. Being a rookie I bought the machine sight on scene, only doing a quick visual inspection (I was too excited to find a 10ee close to me at a great price). I'll attach some pictures as it currently sits, I plan to pick it up within a week or two.

I want to make sure everything is mechanically in check before I start to run this thing, and there is one area of concern. In one picture you'll see that the tachometer needle is broken and missing the protective shield. Not 100% what could've caused this broken needle, but I'd like to find out why, if anyone has any ideas please let me know. It also has a VFD, hopefully everything electrically is alright.

Other than that the lathe is overall pretty greasy and can use a good cleaning. This is my order of operation:
- Good cleaning
- Flush oil and replace (where can I find this info?)
- Mechanical check of all mechanisms (any critical areas for attention?)
- Wire up and run? (I'll be hiring a professional electrician)
ad_1561161054151.jpgIMG_20190625_124612.jpgad_1561161049951.jpgIMG_20190625_124114.jpgIMG_20190625_124123.jpg

Any advice is greatly appreciated, as I said this is new territory for me but I'm beyond excited.

Thanks guys,

-Addison