New to me 47 Monarch 10ee pre-run checklist? Broken tachometer?
Close
Login to Your Account
    Country
    CANADA
    State/Province
    Ontario
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default New to me 47 Monarch 10ee pre-run checklist? Broken tachometer?

Hi all! I've been creeping this forum for a while now lusting over all your beautiful lathes, and now I've finally purchased my very own Monarch 10ee. Being a rookie I bought the machine sight on scene, only doing a quick visual inspection (I was too excited to find a 10ee close to me at a great price). I'll attach some pictures as it currently sits, I plan to pick it up within a week or two.

I want to make sure everything is mechanically in check before I start to run this thing, and there is one area of concern. In one picture you'll see that the tachometer needle is broken and missing the protective shield. Not 100% what could've caused this broken needle, but I'd like to find out why, if anyone has any ideas please let me know. It also has a VFD, hopefully everything electrically is alright.

Other than that the lathe is overall pretty greasy and can use a good cleaning. This is my order of operation:
    - Good cleaning
    - Flush oil and replace (where can I find this info?)
    - Mechanical check of all mechanisms (any critical areas for attention?)
    - Wire up and run? (I'll be hiring a professional electrician)
    ad_1561161054151.jpgimg_20190625_124612.jpgad_1561161049951.jpgimg_20190625_124114.jpgimg_20190625_124123.jpg

Any advice is greatly appreciated, as I said this is new territory for me but I'm beyond excited.

Thanks guys,

-Addison

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)