What's new
What's new

Newbie with Monarch 10ee - Help starting the machine?

jncorn

Plastic
Hello,

I am brand new to metal working. I just picked up a 1943 Monarch 10EE. It's beautiful. I am having trouble getting it started, though. The generator starts up fine and sounds great. But I am not sure what I need to do to start the spindle! The lathe has an ELSR feature and I think that is related to my struggles. I have read somewhere that if it not engaged properly then it confuses the entire system. Any advice on what levers/dials to push/engage would be greatly appreciated.

If you respond, you should (correctly) assume I am an abject moron who should not be allowed near power tools.

IMG_20210620_183538395.jpgIMG_20210620_183529268.jpgIMG_20210713_112325849.jpgIMG_20210713_112354912.jpgIMG_20210713_112435273.jpg

Thanks for replying. I did try swapping legs on the 3 phase power line. I opened the panel below the carriage/adjacent the generator switch. I can see the direction of rotation arrow on the generator but I can't visually tell which way it is spinning. Maybe I could get a better view from the end of the machine after taking off the big cover on the headstock end?

isn't there a cover on the tailstock end that is removable to see the generator?
also make sure the variable speed knob on the bottom left, is not turned all the way counter clockwise. put it somewhere in the middle of the range

Thank you. I will look at the tailstock end and make sure the variable speed knob is somewhere in the middle of the range. Thank you for your suggestions.

Hello,