What's new
What's new

Newbie to the Monarch need some help getting set up.

vespam5

Plastic
Well I'm not technically a newbie, I actually learned how to use a lathe on a Monarch 10EE 15 years ago when I worked at NASA as a technician. The machinists there helped me learn on a lovely government maintained 10EE and I never had to worry about the upkeep or tooling! I always knew it was a wonderful machine and dreamed of having one of my own some day. Well that day is today because I purchased one at auction and just finished fork lifting it into it's new home in my shop. I have a bunch of questions, any input appreciated. Specs:

10x20
TOOL ROOM
12.5 X 20
SERIAL NUMBER 44898
PEC NUMBER 3416-25-11-24
DATE OF MANUFACTURE 6-61
MODEL EE
WEIGHT 3520

The unfortunate part is that it came lacking any tooling at all, so I need to order a couple of chucks, tightening keys, etc etc.

First question, what is the chuck type called? It is a cam lock style obviously but I am not familiar with the lingo. Three jaw is by far what I need the most, any help would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_5329.jpgIMG_5334.jpgIMG_5336.jpgIMG_5335.jpg

Potentially a very good find! Having the ESLR auto cutout of threading is a real plus.
The chuck style is a 3J.

Have fun.

Lee (the saw guy)

Question,

I hooked it up to my 3-phase power, the machine had three wires coming out of it, black, red, blue. Can I assume this is ready for 230 three phase?

Once I hooked it to power I switched the main lockout switch and heard a familiar hum but can't get the machine to spin, any input appreciated.

It looks like it has been retrofitted, nice looking job.

There is more electrical stuff in back of the large door to the left of the main switch.

Post a pix of what is in there. and a good close up of any nameplates on the panels.