Now that my 10EE is done, what cutting tools do you recommend?
Close
Login to Your Account
Likes Likes:  0
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    North Carolina
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Now that my 10EE is done, what cutting tools do you recommend?

I know this is like asking "what is the best food" or "the prettiest girl", but...

Now that my 10EE is up and running, I need to buy cutting tools. The quick change is 1/2". I'll be doing some flywheel facing and throw-out bearing boring to start. Any brands you recommend? Any that you DON'T recommend? Should I get tools with carbide inserts or stick with HSS?
    Very newbie here!

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Been cutting metal 30 years, if I was starting out On a 10ee Number 1 on my list would be a 3/4” Inserted carbide boring bar, expensive but eliminates huge amount of chatter. If you are gonna do any boring. Try both inserted tools and hss both give good results

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

you can check out banggood.com for some chinese carbide indexable ones. I've ordered a few and they are not bad. there is a guy on youtube that made a video testing the cutters. i also use valenite and iscar indexable cutoff tool and kennemetal top notch.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New York
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)